You are here

Officials: Board of Directors

2019 - 2020 President and Responsible AI Editor & Author

Charles Morgan

Canada / Montréal
McCarthy Tétrault LLP


A nationally recognized leader in technology law, Charles brings deep understanding of disruptive technologies, providing practical advice to help clients fully exploit the promise of innovative solutions while managing risk.

Charles is the co-leader of McCarthy Tétrault’s Information Technology Law Group, which was selected as “Technology Law Firm of the Year” by Chamber’s Canada in 2019. He is also co-leader of the firm’s national Cybersecurity, Privacy and Data Protection Group and a member of the Financial Technology (Fintech) group. Charles’ practice is focused on advising many of our firm’s largest clients on their most complex commercial transactions involving IT outsourcing, systems integration, cloud, financial technologies, data security, data monetization, privacy, licensing, e-commerce and telecommunications. A recognized thought-leader, Charles provides practical advice and protects clients against a broad range of risks in a manner that allows them to continue to innovate and meet the needs of their customer base.

Charles has extensive international experience. As President of the International Technology Lawyers Association (ITechLaw), he has developed a network of trusted correspondent counsel that allow him to provide seamless client service around the globe, alerting his clients to new developments and helping them to manage risks worldwide.

High-resolution image of Charles Morgan and full biography available on the McCarthy Tétrault webpage

Vice President

Gabriela Kennedy

Hong Kong
Mayer Brown
Treasurer and Responsible AI Author

Michael Peeters

United Kingdom / Leeds
DAC Beachcroft LLP

Peter Ruby

Canada / Toronto
Goodmans LLP
Assistant Secretary

Laura Liguori

Italy / Rome
Portolano Cavallo
Christian Frank
Immediate Past President and Responsible AI Author

Christian Frank

Germany / Munich
Taylor Wessing

Eliane de Vilder

Netherlands / Amsterdam
Brinkhof N.V.

Hélène Deschamps Marquis

Canada / Montreal
Blake, Cassels & Graydon,
Vice Chair, Communications Committee

Kevin Erdman

United States / Indianapolis
Brannon, Sowers & Cracraft PC
Chair, Latin America Committee & Vice-Chair, America Conferences

Diego Fernández

Argentina / Buenos Aires
Marval, O'Farrell & Mairal
Chair, North America Conferences

Jessica Franken

United States / Milwaukee
Marquette University

Eva Fredrikson

Sweden / Stockholm
Co-Chair, Interactive Entertainment and Media Committee

Doron Goldstein

United States / New York
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Co-Chair, Dispute Resolution Committee

Clara-Ann Gordon

Switzerland / Zurich
Niederer Kraft Frey

Truiken Heydn

Germany / Munich
TCI Rechtsanwalte
Vice Chair, Substantive Law Committee

Peter Huppertz

Germany / Dusseldorf
Hoffmann Liebs Fritsch & Partner
Asia-Pac Vice Chair & Singapore Conference Chair

Sheena Jacob

Vice-Chair, Data Protection Committee

Roland Mathys

Switzerland / Zurich
Schellenberg Wittmer Ltd

Kelly McFadzien

New Zeland / Auckland
Chapman Tripp
Co-Chair, Global Sponsorships

Robert Milligan

United States / Los Angeles
Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Charles Mudd

United States / Chicago
Mudd Law Offices
Co-Chair, 2019 India Conference

Nikhil Narendran

India / Bangalore

Renato Opice Blum

Brazil / Sao Paulo
Opice Blum Attorneys at Law
Author, Responsible AI

Julian Potter

United Kingdom / London
WP Thompson
Chair, Denver Conference

Dov Scherzer

United States / New York
Vice-Chair, European Conferences

Jürg Schneider

Switzerland / Zurich
Walder Wyss Ltd.

Priti Suri

India / New Delhi
Chair, America Conferences

Anne Sutton

United States / Chicago
Sidley Austin
Co-Chair, Dispute Resolution Committee

Thomas Thalhofer

Germany / Munich
Noerr LLP
Local Chair, 2018 Seattle Conference

Dimitri Timmer

United States / Seattle

Anne-Laure Villedieu

France / Neuilly-sur-Seine
Photo of Emily Reineke wearing a magenta sweater and black jacket
Managing Director

Emily Reineke, CAE

United States / McLean