Press Release

ITechLaw Elects Officers and Directors for 2013-14

Organization's New President Is Kiran Sandford

WAKEFIELD, Mass., USA – Sept. 11, 2013 – The International Technology Law Association (ITechLaw; today announced that it elected a new slate of officers and a new board of directors at its 2013 World Technology Law Conference & Annual Meeting, held in May in Scottsdale, Arizona. With members in more than 60 countries, ITechLaw is the leading worldwide organization representing lawyers in the technology sector.

The new President of ITechLaw is Kiran Sandford, one of the UK’s leading IT lawyers. As head of Mishcon de Reya's IT group, she advises on outsourcing, software development and licensing, systems supply and procurement, data protection and privacy, digital delivery, and Internet and e-business issues. As a member of the firm's Betting and Gaming group, she regularly advises clients in that sector. Sandford is listed as a notable practitioner in many of the internationally recognized directories of Internet and e-commerce lawyers. She has been on the ITechLaw Executive Committee for four years and was a member of the ITechLaw board for six years before that. She also previously served as the European Conference Committee Chair, and she was Editor of the ITechLaw Journal (formerly known as the ITechLaw e-Bulletin).

The new ITechLaw officers, who together form the organization's executive committee, are:

  • President -- Kiran Sandford, Mishcon de Reya, United Kingdom
  • Vice President -- Sajai Singh, J. Sagar Associates, India
  • Treasurer -- Jenna Karadbil, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP, United States
  • Secretary -- Susan Barty, CMS Cameron McKenna, United Kingdom
  • Assistant Secretary -- Robert Weiss, Neal Gerber Eisenberg LLP, United States
  • Immediate Past President -- John Beardwood, Fasken Martineau LLP, Canada

"It is an honor to have been elected by the ITechLaw Board of Directors to lead this influential organization," said Sandford. "I look forward to working with the directors and committee leaders to grow all spheres of ITechLaw’s activity this year."

The newly elected directors are:
Jaime Angeles, Oficina Angeles & Lugo Lovatón, Dominican Republic
Belen Arribas, Monereo Meyer Marinel-lo Abogados, SLP, Spain
Claire Bernier, ALTANA, France
Ceylin Beyli, CBL Law Office, Turkey
Peter Bräutigam, Norr Stiefenhofer Lutz, Germany
Philip Catania, Corrs Chambers Westgarth, Australia
Domenico Colella, Orsingher, Italy
Steven de Schrijver, ASTREA bv cvba, Belgium
Roopa Doraswamy, Doraswamy Law Chambers, India
Christian Frank, Taylor Wessing, Germany
Hele Karja, Law Firm GLIMSTEDT, Estonia
Gabriela Kennedy, Hogan Lovells, Hong Kong
Jose Ramon Morales, Garrigues, Spain
Charles Morgan, McCarthy Tetrault LLP, Canada
Jeremy Morton, CMS Cameron McKenna LLP, United Kingdom
Matthew Mousley, Duane Morris LLP, United States
Haakon Opperud, Thommessen Krefting Greve Lund, Norway
Michael Peeters, DAC Beachcroft LLP, United Kingdom
Rory Radding, Edwards Wildman LLP, United States
Stefan Schicker, SKW Schwarz, Germany
Ira Schwartz, Parker Schwartz PLLC, United States
Pekka Tarkela, Attorneys at Law Borenius & Kemppinen Ltd, Finland
Dag Thorstensen, Haavind, Norway
Eugene Weitz, SAI Global, United States
Reinoud Westerdijk, Kennedy Van der Laan, Netherlands

ITechLaw's next event will be its annual European conference, which this year takes place in Amsterdam, October 2-4, followed by the International India Conference, January 30-31, 2014 in Bangalore, and the International Asia-Pacific Conference in Melbourne, Australia, February 26-28. The 2014 ITechLaw World Technology Law Conference and Annual Meeting will take place in New York City, May 14-16. All ITechLaw event information is posted at

About the International Technology Law Association
Founded in 1971, ITechLaw is the world's premier organization representing lawyers in the technology sector. The organization's global membership spans six continents and embodies a broad spectrum of expertise. In addition to serving as a forum for members to discuss a wide range of legal issues, the association regularly organizes conferences that provide global networking opportunities and explore cutting-edge issues and trends in both information technology and intellectual property law. For more information, visit


ITechLaw and the ITechLaw logo are registered trademarks of the International Technology Law Association.

For additional information:
Judith Vanderkay, ITechLaw PR