Webinar: European Unitary Patent and Unified Litigation Systems: What You Need to Know

Thursday, March 21, 2013
7:00 a.m. Pacific/10:00 a.m. Eastern
2:00 p.m. UK/3:00 p.m. CET


https://imgssl.constantcontact.com/ui/stock1/silver-keyboard2.jpgOn December 11, 2012, the European Parliament adopted two draft EU regulations on a unitary patent for Europe. The first draft regulation concerns unitary patent protection; the second sets out the translation arrangements for such protection. With the exception of Italy and Spain, 25 EU member states are on board and will establish unitary patent protection for their territories. The regulations entered into force on January 20, 2013. However, they will only apply from January 1, 2014 or the date of entry into force of the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court, whichever is the later.

The Agreement on the Unified Patent Court intends to create a specialized EU patent court ("Unified Patent Court", or UPC) with exclusive jurisdiction for litigation relating to European (EPC) patents and the new unitary patents. The latest version of the Agreement was endorsed by EU ministers on December 10, 2012 and by the European Parliament on December 11, 2012. On January 19, 2013, twenty-four members of the European Union signed the UPC agreement in Brussels, including Italy. It will need to be ratified by at least 13 Contracting Member States to enter into force. While the new European unitary patent and unified litigation systems provide new exciting opportunities, they will challenge and change the way patents are prosecuted and litigated in the EU.

During this webinar, produced by the Intellectual Property Committee, speakers Julian Potter of W.P. Thompson & Co. and Matthias Ebneter of Rentsch Partner Ltd. will provide you with an introduction into the new systems and elaborate selected aspects of the new systems.

This webinar is complimentary for all ITechLaw members.

About the Intellectual Property Committee
As developed and developing economies become ever more reliant on the creation and use of technology, increasingly complex and controversial cross border intellectual property issues arise which demand resolution. The ITechLaw Intellectual Property Law Committee encourages members to identify these issues, debate them and attempt to find ways to resolve them. The Committee is chaired by Robert Milligan of Seyfarth Shaw LLP, and vice-chaired by Joren De Wachter of Integrating IP, Technology & Business Models and Steven Weyer of Stites & Harbison PLLC.

Members Login